The Monroe City School Board shall be composed of seven (7) members, each elected by qualified voters residing within each of the respective special election districts within its jurisdictional boundaries of the City of Monroe.  Each district shall encompass the geographic and demographic areas fixed by the Monroe City School Board for school board member election purposes.  An official map showing each election district shall be made available for viewing during normal business hours at the School Board office.


Every candidate for election must be a resident and qualified voter of the election district from which said candidate shall seek election at the time of qualifying for election to such position and, if elected, must remain a resident of the election district during the term of office.


Should any member of the School Board move his/her residence from the election district from which such member was elected, the seat held by said member shall be declared vacant, and such vacant seat shall be filled in accordance with applicable law of the State of Louisiana.


The Monroe City School Board shall reapportion itself every ten (10) years, using the federal census, so that each member shall represent as nearly as possible the same number of persons.



Ref:    La. Rev. Stat. Ann. ยงยง17:52, 17:71.1, 17:71.2, 17:71.3, 17:71.4, 17:71.5, 17:71.6, 17:71.7; 17:81, 18:1, 18:602


Monroe City School Board